• BREAKING: Lawan Take Over From Saraki As He Emerges President Of 9th Senate

  • Former Senate Leader, Ahmed Lawan has
    been chosen President of the ninth Senate.

    Lawan, who was chosen today on the floor of the senate during the inauguration of ninth National Assembly through the open tally, polled an aggregate of more than 54 votes to vanquish his nearest adversary for the position, Senator Ali Ndume speaking to Borno South Senatorial locale .
    Lawan represents Yobe North Senatorial District of Yobe state on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, APC.
    107 out of the 109 senators participated in the election.
    Both Lawan and Ndume hails from the North East geopolitical zone where the APC zoned the position to.

    Senator Yahaya Abdullahi representing Kebbi North nominated Lawan for the position of the senate presidency.
    He was seconded by Senator Adeola Olamilekan from Lagos state.
    Lawan before the election congratulated his colleagues for being returned to the senate and urged all of them to provide sustainable good governance.
    He further urged them to work together to create a sustainable environment for all.
    “Our political differences will not hinder us from providing the needed development to Nigerians, if elected,” he said.
    This is the second time Lawan contested for the position.
    He contested against and lost to the immediate past Senate President, Bukola Saraki in 2015.
    Recall that the National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress on Monday ordered all the party’s members-elect in the National Assembly to vote Lawan and Omo-Agege as Senate and Deputy Senate President respectively.
    Recall also that a few days ago, Chairman of Senate Committee on Appropriations, Senator Danjuma Goje stepped down for Lawan after reportedly meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari.

    Lawan has the backing of APC while PDP threw its backing behind Ndume.
    Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan was born in 1959. He received a bachelor’s degree in geography from the University of Maiduguri, a master’s degree in remote sensing from Ahmadu Bello University and a doctorate degree in remote sensing/GIS.from Cranfield University, UK.
    He was elected to the Senate in 2007. In 2008, he was a member of the National Assembly’s Joint Committee on Constitution Review. In 2009, as chairman of the Senate committee on Public Accounts, Lawan initiated and sponsored the Desertification Control Commission Bill.
    Lawan Takes Over From Saraki As He Emerges President Of 9th Senate

    The Senate has produced 14 senate presidents namely: Nnamdi Azikiwe, 1960, (NCNC), Dennis Osadebay,1960-1963, (NCNC), Joseph Wayas ,1979–1983, (NPN), Iyorchia Ayu ,1992–1993, (SDP), Ameh Ebute, 1993, (SDP), Evan Enwerem,1999, (PDP), Chuba Okadigbo ,1999–2000, (PDP) , Anyim Pius Anyim, 2000–2003 ,(PDP), Adolphus Wabara, 2003–2005, (PDP) , Ken Nnamani, 2005–2007, (PDP), David Mark, 2007-2015, (PDP) Bukola Saraki, 2015 – 2019, (APC), Ahmed Lawan, June 2019-Present, (APC)

    No comments:

    Post a Comment